Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (276) - TV Shows (42) - Books (13) - Music (75) - Games (82)

50 First Dates review

Posted : 9 years, 9 months ago on 18 February 2008 02:25 (A review of 50 First Dates)

Adam Sandler has his supporting cast to thank for any laughs that I may have let slip during this film. Sean Astin and Rob Schneider provide much needed comic relief in this film about a stereotypical Sandler layabout who falls in love with an amnesiac who can never remember who he is when she wakes up every morning. Dan Aykroyd cameos with both a great joke and an awful joke in this film that kind of just feels as though it has ripped off Groundhog Day.

Maybe I'd have liked it more if Sandler wasn't the lead.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

You're a disease, and I'm the cure.

Posted : 9 years, 9 months ago on 18 February 2008 02:11 (A review of Cobra)

Sly Stallone stars as everyone's favourite genre of character - the renegade cop - in this violent action film. In a city gripped with fear of a serial killing homicidal maniac, the police force struggle to make a breakthrough with the case and comes under intensifying public scrutiny. This changes when a witness unwittingly identifies the man in question and is then targeted for silencing by the ruthless murderer.

That's where Sly comes in! Ultra badass cop Cobretti - nicknamed The Cobra - is all that stands between her safety and an underground cult of psychos who wish to bring about a new world order governed by the survival of the fittest. It's just unlucky for them that Sly is the Alpha male in this town. Slick lines and deaths-a-plenty follow as The Cobra single handedly cleans up the town.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Last Kiss review

Posted : 9 years, 9 months ago on 18 February 2008 02:00 (A review of The Last Kiss)

A film that ultimately documents the collapse of several relationships amongst a group of highschool friends. The Last Kiss is a film that is laced with comedy but is ultimately quite depressing. Similar to Garden State in that Zach Braff has a bunch of quirky friends who all contribute their own stories to the film, this time ZB comits relationship suicide by cheating on his long-term pregnant girlfriend with an annoying college girl.

It's difficult to sympathise with him after this and I couldn't feel sorry for him at all after he cheated. The rest of the film is filled with dialogue that can only happen in a hollywood movie and a final scene that is actually really endearing. Even as a reprehensible man it's difficult to dislike Zach Braff.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

In town you're the law, out here it's me

Posted : 9 years, 9 months ago on 18 February 2008 01:46 (A review of Rambo: First Blood)

I assume the consensus for this film is that it's an all-guns-blazing kill-fest, but I don't think that could be further from the truth. From the serene and beautiful setting of the opening sequence, the film follows a former Vietnam veteran on his return to civilian life in America. After tracking down the only surviving member of his unit and realising that he has died since his return, Rambo assumes the role of a drifter who aimlessly roams from town to town trying to re-adjust to everyday life.

He is arrested for no reason whatsoever by a small town sherif and humiliated for the entertainment of the deputies. Sparking a series of flashbacks form his time in the jungle, Rambo flips and stages a daring escape to the nearby mountain covered in thick forest. A manhunt ensues and media attention grows as Rambo flourishes in his natural surroundings. Seeking closure on his ordeal, Rambo manages to escape back to the small town and embark on a destructive rampage before confronting the local town sherif. Throughout the film you feel nothing but empathy for Rambo and his troubled history and this culminates in a depressing final scene in which he breaks down in the face of the amassed national guard and police force who are baying for his blood. He just wanted something to eat!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

What We Must review

Posted : 9 years, 9 months ago on 11 February 2008 12:03 (A review of What We Must)

Having dabbled in the rest of Jaza Jaggist's discography as a result of this album, I can safely say that What We Must is by far their best work. This album is a triumph of wonderful modern jazz and relaxing instrumental work.

There can be no reason on earth for people to dislike this album. It's well worth a listen whatever your taste in music. I've listened to it many times over and it has withstood the challenge of my ever changing tastes and moods.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Endtroducing..... review

Posted : 9 years, 9 months ago on 10 February 2008 11:57 (A review of Endtroducing.....)

This album is nothing but pure proof of a master as work. It is impossible to imagine how painstaking it must have been to find, catalogue and compile the sheer number of samples used in this album. For me, Endroducing was a gateway into other DJ Shadow material and hiphop artists in general.

If only he'd stuck to the winning formula with his newer records instead of embarrassing himself with a collection of utterly mediocre rap and uninspired break beat. He's clearly an extremely talented musician and although he's never bettered this record, he's doing himself an injustice at the moment.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Slow Riot for New Zerø Kanada review

Posted : 9 years, 9 months ago on 10 February 2008 11:51 (A review of Slow Riot for New Zerø Kanada)

This album contains two of the most awesome tracks ever recorded. Although only two songs long, it still weighs in at approximately 30 minutes of pure listening pleasure. This album is the work of a serious collection of musicians who are totally synchronised with one another. Beautiful, passionate and melodic soundscapes are created using the mini-orchestra sent from the post-apocalyptic world of tomorrow.

Music for wandering the desert too (while avoiding bandits, wild animals and anarchistic biker gangs).


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A-men.

Posted : 9 years, 9 months ago on 10 February 2008 11:38 (A review of Kid A)

This album has been my automatic response to the "What's your favourite album?" question for the past 6 years now. An absolute staple of any self-respecting music fans diet.

This release thoroughly tore Radiohead away from the mainstream in a split that hadn't been equalled in magnitude since Laurasia and Gondwanaland last shook hands. The effect saw a lot of people disowning radiohead, while many more fans got into the band and cited the album as a reason to start listening to music again. A masterpiece from beginning to end. Kid A garnered a whole new fan base for the band, thanks to the break from cut and paste success formulas that could have seen them make OK Computer II. Instead they went the way of experimental electronica and unconventional song structures, converting them into the legendary band we know and love today.

If you don't like Radiohead, you're probably mentally deranged or something!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Echo Park review

Posted : 9 years, 9 months ago on 9 February 2008 06:01 (A review of Echo Park)

This album propelled Feeder to the zenith of their career with a collection of catchy singles and energetic pop songs. In a strange way, I have it to thank for getting me into guitar-driven music all those years ago.

It's still a guilty pleasure of mine, and I occasionally put it on and play it through. A harmless record that invokes lots of good memories and feelings of nostalgia whenever I hear it. Not the greatest album in the world, but I'm very glad that it exists.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Crane Wife review

Posted : 9 years, 9 months ago on 9 February 2008 04:55 (A review of The Crane Wife)

This album was on the receiving end of some seriously glowing reviews in the online music community and associated press. It prompted me to indulge in The Decemberists for the first time, and I have to say I must be missing what all the fuss is about. The instrumentation isn't very exciting and the vocals drone in the worst way possible.

I'm not sure why it's still on my hard drive to be honest.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block