Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (276) - TV Shows (42) - Books (13) - Music (75) - Games (82)

Belly of the Beast review

Posted : 11 years, 9 months ago on 12 February 2007 06:59 (A review of Belly of the Beast)

When Seagal started filming this picture, he'd piled on more pounds than the UK treasury. I'm not exactly at a loss to describe how bad this film is, there are plenty of adjectives around for it.

Awful, atrocious, appalling, abhorrent, abominable...

That's just the A's. Avoid this at all costs, it's not even possible to watch this film for a laugh.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Surprisingly good!

Posted : 11 years, 9 months ago on 12 February 2007 06:49 (A review of Out for Justice (1991))

I first put this film on to watch as a joke with my brother. I checked out its rating on IMDb before I sat down to watch it just to get a feel for how bad it would be, but I was actually pleasantly surprised!

Having a soft spot for cheesy action films and Steven Seagal, I may have been a bit more generous with my rating as I should have been. However, this film is extremely gritty and dare I say it, realistic? Compared to other Seagal films at least. The villain is just an unhinged loon rather than a megalomaniac who wants to rule everything. If you've got a guy like that who you need to take care of, just throw a shotgun at a beret-wearing Seagal and give him the rest of the day.

Seeing Seagal lose it in the final scenes was something special. The best Seagal film bar none!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Largely disappointing.

Posted : 11 years, 9 months ago on 12 February 2007 06:38 (A review of Miami Vice)

Considering this production had Michael Mann at the helm, I really expected something more, especially with his track record. The film suffered from several flaws:

1. Jamie Foxx is a talented actor, but he was left on the sidelines for most of this film. Tubbs was AWOL for most of the film in fact, only popping up here and there.

2. They never really got to the bottom of the case they're working on. They didn't catch the head honcho who they were hunting from the beginning and more importantly (though completely forgotten in the film) they failed to sniff out the mole in the police department that was responsible for the deaths of countless undercover agents.

3. I thought the love story was pretty trite, superficial and really not necessary.

The highlight for me was the gunfight at the end, with some extremely beefy sounding weapons (Mann trademark!) But that's a pretty miserable highlight when such a gifted director is in control.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Mainstream to control

Posted : 11 years, 9 months ago on 12 February 2007 03:56 (A review of Fall of Math)

When I first heard this album I thought it was one of the most innovative and impressive albums I'd ever heard. Merging post-rock and electronica elements, there really isn't a bad song on it. It's heavy, energetic and melodic and seeing them play some of these tracks live was a wonderful experience! Merging glitch beats, the occasional sample and a galaxies worth of distortion, 65daysofstatic create some wonderful music. Definitely the kind of music that you'd hear as the world crumbled around your very ears. They are helped by a drummer who must have been born on a conveyor belt, he's an absolute machine. This album and it's successor are well worth a listen, in fact, even the EP's in between are goldmines.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A Scanner Darkly review

Posted : 11 years, 9 months ago on 12 February 2007 10:53 (A review of A Scanner Darkly)

This film had so much potential. Philip K. Dick as the basis of the script? Yes please. When I watched the trailer I was literally salivating at the prospect of watching this at the cinema. However, it seemed to come and go quicker than a passing day and it had a very poor release in the UK, so I had to wait.

When I finally saw it I was fairly disappointed. It was not what I expected at all. The animation was quite fantastic and something different that I'm not used to seeing, but the plot was anything but. Some of the dialogue in the film was just painfully dull. It seemed to jump about a bit too much too. Nothing but the animation was really worth seeing, I'm glad I didn't shell out for a cinema ticket now.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Half-Life 2 review

Posted : 11 years, 9 months ago on 12 February 2007 12:41 (A review of Half-Life 2)

This is one of the most perfect games I've ever played. The graphics are flawless, the physics are flawless, the plot, storyline and characters are flawless.

I had hours upon hours of fun with this game. I was engrossed in what was happening around me but more impressed with how I could manipulate the physics of my surroundings. The original half life game raised the bar to a new level, and its sequel has done the same, putting other FPS games such as Doom 3 (which was released around the same time) to shame.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Nodachi samurai

Posted : 11 years, 9 months ago on 12 February 2007 12:37 (A review of The Last Samurai)

I really enjoyed this film. A lot of people I know resent the extremely Hollywood ending and I can appreciate that, but up until the final battle I was thoroughly engrossed. This film totally changed my opinion of Tom Cruise and I actually left the cinema thinking very highly of him.

However, the real star of this show, for me, was Ken Watanbe. What a talent! Seeing Algren completely change his ways and adopt the samurai way of life was really rather interesting. It's a typical Hollywood spin to paint Samurai of this era as the good guys, but it really got me thinking about how much self-discipline they must have had. If you can ignore how warped this film is, you will probably enjoy it. The storyline focuses on Japan attempting to modernise its military power by adopting Western inventions, such as the rifle. In a typically shrewd move by the Americans, they end up selling high powered weapons and technology to a buyer who will later become a fearless opponent.

Samurai resent this, partly because the weapons are to be turned against the unruly swordsmen who refuse to recognise the western style of government and democracy. Seeing how the world got lazy with guns in comparison to the well-educated and morally righteous samurai was always an interesting aside to the dramatics occurring on-screen.

The scenery is picturesque, the fighting scenes are well choreographed, the costumes are perfect and just about everything falls into place nicely.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Sin City review

Posted : 11 years, 9 months ago on 12 February 2007 12:20 (A review of Sin City)

I fell in love with this film the moment I first watched it at the cinema. It's a typical film noir; a comic book adaptation that is drastically over the top and gritty. Each of the actors selected for the main characters are chosen perfectly and fit the bill like nobody else could. This film appeals to all of my tastes, I'd love to see more films of this type in cinemas and I'm especially looking forward to the sequel.

Angelina Jolie is rumoured to star, I can't think of anyone else who would slot into such a bombastic role so easily. This is a great film, you don't even realise that it's predominantly black and white after a few minutes, though I thought that was essential to the 'feel' of the film, it accentuates the comic atmosphere.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Top Gear review

Posted : 11 years, 9 months ago on 11 February 2007 11:42 (A review of Top Gear)

I think that Top Gear has the potential to be a really amazing show. I watch it from time to time despite not having the slightest interest in cars, yet it still holds my attention. The only negative aspect of the programme is the continued presence of Jeremy Clarkson and his ceaseless list of stereotypes and cliches.

Losing Clarkson and his predictable tripe and replacing him with a more charismatic presenter would do the trick I think. On what other show can you see cars being struck by lightning, or outrunning apache helicopters and Challenger II tanks?


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Antics review

Posted : 11 years, 9 months ago on 11 February 2007 11:25 (A review of Antics)

This is a pretty solid album that I gave a lot of airtime to when it first came out. I'm quite surprised how well I received it given the suspiciously small range of the lead singer. His voice seems really strained at times, like he can only really hit two notes, but it never really impeded my listening enjoyment.

There are some really catchy tunes on here. I like to put it on whenever I get bored of some of my other artists. Apparently this album is the work of the devil according to some die hard Interpol fans, but I've never been able to get into any of their other ones. They're just a moody gloomy guitar band that make accessible tracks.


0 comments, Reply to this entry